New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Noob here!

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 08:33 PM
Default Noob here!

Hey guys! I'm new to this board. I currently do not own a Monte, but I'm in the process of looking at one to purchase. I currently own a Nissan Maxima, which I've had since January. I'm just not happy with it so its for sale. I'ma Chevy gal. My dad tried to talk me out of the Max, but I wouldn't listen. I learned the hard way ...LoL. Anyways, I just wanted to post and say hello.

If anyone could give me any pointers as to what to look for as far as mechanical things, I would appreciate it. The Monte I'm looking at is a 2000 SS w/104,000 miles on it. The guy is having some work done to it cuz it didn't pass inspection. He said no engine work is needed. So any help would be great!

Old 11-18-2007, 08:39 PM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2007
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default RE: Noob here!

Welcome Lisa from VA. Let me be the 1st to welcome you here.

Old 11-18-2007, 08:42 PM

welcome to the site! did he tell you what didnt pass inspection? and just make sure u test drive the car and check all the fluids and the normal quick checks b4 u buy a car...carfax is a good help as well

Old 11-18-2007, 08:43 PM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2007
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

I'd stay away from the earlier 6th gen Montes, like the '00 or '01. I had an '01 SS LE and LOVED it, but it didn't love me back. That's why I got rid of it at 116,000 miles. Try to find a later year. Spend a couple of extra$$. Actually, if you can find a late model low milage car from a GM dealer, you can get a 100,000 mile warranty with it if it's certified. I spent $,$$$ for that warranty.
I Love my Intimidator SS, and he loves me back.

Old 11-18-2007, 08:43 PM

Thank you for the welcome! I hope I learn a few things about Montes here. I've always loved them, hopfully soon I will be driving one.

Old 11-18-2007, 08:50 PM
Taz