New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

1972 Monte, New from Texas

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2011, 03:30 AM
Default 1972 Monte, New from Texas

o/

Never had the chance to introduce myself, even though I've been here for a month or two. I just now uploaded 32 pictures of my restoration in the last 9 months of ownership.

I'm a high school student working on getting a license this summer. Doesn't mean I don't drive it though.

I bought the car originally for $1500. It was caked in bondo and plagued with rust. $2600 later, no rust spots nor Macco-style bondo job.

I filled parts of the trunk and floor with fiberglass myself. I put the carpet in myself for both the trunk and interior. I took the cheap route and carefully painted the blue and faded interior pieces black. Front bumper, grille, and rear bumper had to be torched off by a mechanic. I replaced the grille and front bumper so far. Just needs the chrome trim and a rear bumper.

Ordered new seat covers and tore the blue completely off and rebuilt the foam myself. I still have to do it to the back seats. Before I came across this car, I wanted a Toyota Celica. Like most teens, we're all hyped about imports. After buying this Monte I feel sooo thankful to have this rather than a rice burner. A true American car.

The trunk is from a Chevelle, and this weekend I'll be drilling a hole for the lock insignia, not sure what it's called. EDIT: ahah! a bezzle I remember now.

More or less I have been teaching myself the whole way through the restoration, and have plenty to learn later on.

I can't say I have come across any mechanical problems until recent when I had to cut the heater hose because the heater was running all the time. (no control valve, fail). Easy fix though.

Anyway... that's my wall of text for you. I leave here a link to the album and the most recent picture I have.

Album Link

Last edited by Zuzmaw; 07-06-2011 at 02:22 AM.
Old 07-02-2011, 05:33 AM