Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): Starting but won't stay running

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2017, 11:12 AM
1 Year Member
Default Starting but won't stay running

I have a 2000 ss, and after doing some research I've come to the conclusion that my problem is the throttle body, or somewhat close to it. There are two little pipe looking things stemming off of the front and to the left (goes to over above the center of the motor), the right one has what looks like smoke coming out of it when I try to start my car, can anyone help me out here please? I'm no professional I'm still learning, just trying to save money doing the jobs myself.

Old 01-05-2017, 11:19 AM
1 Year Member

This is a photo I found on Google that I was using as a reference because it looks identical to my problem area, the end of the red line is what I'm seeing smoke come out of, it's a very small amount but that's it.

Attached Images
File Type: png
IMG_3920.PNG (3.61 MB, 15 views)
Old 01-05-2017, 12:16 PM
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

OK. That's one of the hardest parts there is to look up because the name and description is so vague. GM simply calls it "Harness". GM part# 24506671. It's part of the EVAP system for fuel vapor recovererly. The "smoke" you see is fuel vapors. It's pretty common for that rubber boot that connects to the throttle body to split because it dries out. It can effect vacuum pressure when it leaks.

Here's the part: MONTE CARLO IMPALA 3.8 FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR VACUUM HARNESS 2000-2005 24506671 | eBay

Last edited by plumbob; 01-05-2017 at 12:34 PM.
Old 01-05-2017, 01:24 PM
1 Year Member

Thank you!!! I've been pulling my hair out all day trying to figure out what the **** that's called. Thank you again so much!

Old 01-05-2017, 02:02 PM
10 Year Member

Glad to be of help

Old 01-08-2017, 05:05 PM