Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Sputter at start up...

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 02:36 PM
Default Sputter at start up...

My 2003 has been sputtering at start up lately for a brief moment. It's about to hit 100,000 and I'm thinking it might be time for a little maintenance which will hopefully take care of the sputtering. My question is how thorough should I do this? For example, I'm thinking new spark plugs is a must, and maybe the wires as well. It seems difficult to get to the back plugs, and I'm no mechanic, so I wonder if I should be replacing any other parts while I have it in the shop. Distributor cap and rotor? New belt? (belt seems to be in good shape, but if it's easy enough to do while doing the plugs, then yes?)

Again, I'm not a mechanic. I do love my monte and want to keep her running!

Old 11-11-2008, 05:14 PM
Default RE: Sputter at start up...

well if there are any shops u really trust or any mechanics u know that wont try to sell u sumtin u dont need then take it there...the sputter in the beginnin is pretty a pretty non-descriptive discription lol so got anything else we can go on?

Old 11-11-2008, 07:04 PM

Well, you turn the key, and instead of a smooth start up like normal, the engine sputters. That is a universal word for doesn't run right, right? Seriously though, it gurgles and the rpm gauge jumps and twitches between 0 and 1000. Then a few seconds later it finally comes out of it and the rpm's raise quickly then go down like a normal start. There is no other time that the engine sputters, gurgles, burps.

Is there such thing as an honest mechanic? Few and far between. But I'm hoping that if I buy the parts and get quotes on labor I can choose my rip off artist. It's not like my car is broke down and I need it pronto. In fact I barely drive my car as it is. So time is on my side, and I think that will benefit me in my situation.

Old 11-11-2008, 08:08 PM