Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): No sound on aftermarket stereo

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2017, 04:48 PM
Default No sound on aftermarket stereo

My '02 monte has been an awesome first car and my dad and I decided I should get a new stereo for my own needs. Well I went to work and installed it, even checked to make sure it turned on before putting the dash back together. Well, I never checked the sound and it appears that I do not have ANY sound at all. The shop mechanic I bought some tools from said to take the red wire on my harness and put it over to my fuse box. Is it that wire that is messing my system up? Or did I connect another wire wrong? Or is it something else? I'm new to this stuff but am eager to learn, thanks!

Old 06-19-2017, 07:07 AM

I can surely help you with this.. Need a little more info first tho.. Did you splice wires yourself or use a "custom" harness? I know the power wire is not red for one, its blue.. White is your remote wire and black is ground.. There are two each for the power and ground.. One for the stereo and one each for the amp.. That is IF you have the amp in your car.. Im under the assumption that all 00-05 come with the amp.. It will be in the trunk ceiling.

Did you bypass the amp or are you keeping it functional?

I just spent about 6 hours yesterday rewiring my stereo and hooking up a new amp, I know how much a btch this can be..

Last edited by wht02monte; 06-19-2017 at 07:11 AM.
Old 06-19-2017, 11:09 AM

Thank you. These threads make me feel good when I'm otherwise having a crappy day.

Old 06-19-2017, 01:31 PM