Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Monte Carlo Woes... 1st Post!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2009, 08:31 AM
Default Monte Carlo Woes... 1st Post!!

I was wondering if maybe ya'll could help a fella out with a problem. My girlfriends car sucks, and is having problems. And I'll just throw this out there too - Im a thru & thru Saab guy - I basically know nothing about this car, or motor. Im a decent mechanic, but anything terribly extensive, will be handled by an indy.

It's a '99 Monte Carlo with the 3.1 - 6 cyl. - 96k - It's gold... just in case you were wondering.

Problem(s) arising:

1) On cold starts (especially sitting overnight), it gets a pretty bad case of ticking lifters. Usually, it goes away after the car is warmed up - but SOMETIMES, it lingers for 20 mins, maybe longer. But on average, goes away after 3-5 mins. I have heard from a friend or two, that the 3.1/3.4 were notorious for lifter tick, and it wasnt necessarily a big problem. But its pretty bad... so I dunno if this would be considered 'normal' - or if their common lifter tick assumption is correct.

2) I have added coolant to her car on more than one occasion in the past month - only refilling the overflow tank - but it seems to be disappearing?!? I notice no leaks, as she parks in the same spot everyday. On that note - I havent noticed any irregular smoke/exhaust, but I dont watch it like a hawk... As far as I can tell, there is plenty of coolant in the car. Anyway - her 'low coolant' light likes to come on and tease you, and make a mockery of your coolant adding efforts. Sometimes it stays on, its a bitch like that. (oh, and not just disappearing out of the overflow when its hot)