Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

LOST SOUND WITH AFTERMARKET RADIO Please help!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2013, 04:07 AM
Unhappy LOST SOUND WITH AFTERMARKET RADIO Please help!!

Newbie here ok, so here's my problem I tried installing my new double din pioneer avh-x4500bt head unit wired everything according to the diagram plugged it all in then turn it on and no sound I can hear something but that's only if it's extremely quiet and I make no sudden moves inside the car I checked all speakers to make sure they're not grounded out everything seems fine I have no stock amp I'm just completely lost I wanna know if anyone has the same problem and have the found the issue, head unit is not bad I've already tested it also I'm using American international wiring harness gwh-406 2006 Chevy Monte Carlo LT no onstar no Bose just incase your wondering please someone help me!!!

Old 10-23-2013, 07:54 AM
Monte Of The Month -- August 2012
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

If you have a factory amp you need to bypass it. A harness is available to do this (quickest/easiest method) or you can make a bypass harness.

Old 10-23-2013, 01:31 PM

Like I said my car did not come with an amp! Are the LT models equipped with it as a standard option? I did buy my MC used but I know for sure that there's no amp here not one that I've seen at least

Old 10-23-2013, 02:35 PM
Monte Of The Month -- August 2012
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Sorry, I didn't see where you specified you didn't have a factory amp. The Bose system was an option. You could still have a factory amp and not the Bose upgrade. Take a look (from the trunk) up under the rear shelf. If there is a rectangular metal box hanging there with a couple of wiring harnesses plugged into it that is your factory amp. To bypass it you'll need something like this: