Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Flickering Lights

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2008, 08:53 AM
Default Flickering Lights

[:@]Hi - I'm a newbie to this forum. I posted the lights portion to the new member forum earlier. My first MC was a '79. Ijust bought my second MC,a 2000SS with the 3800 V6.All the lights, interior and exterior, dash,flicker when I turn the car off. I hear a clicking behind the glovebox. Occasionally, the headlights remain on as well. I got up this morning and the battery was dead, so it must have randomly activated. Any clues? Fried switch? Controller? Also, Overdrive doesn't kick in. Thanks for any help.

Old 04-17-2008, 12:32 PM
Default RE: Flickering Lights

Okay, this sounds like a BCM (Body Control Module)problem...But I'm not 100% sure...As far as the overdrive problem, how do you know it isn't kicking into overdrive? (this question is not meant to unsult you, but the more information we have, the better wecan help)Normally, (From what I understand the trans shop told me)the transmissions won't lock up until like 2100 rpms...My '99 will run about 2200 RPMs @ 75 mph on the highway and I took it to a trans shop and they said it was normal. If your trans is in fact NOT locking up, I would check the torque converter control solenoid....maybe the previous owner didn't want to replace it so they just unplugged it...you still have 4 gears, just no lock up. I have a '99 Z34 with the 3800 and 4T65E 4 speed with electronic overdrive.

Old 04-17-2008, 02:59 PM