Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Car surges but no check engine light?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 03:18 PM
Default Car surges but no check engine light?

Hey there guys, Im new to the Monte and the OBDII diagnostic system. Will the check engine light come on for a intermitent miss or even a cronic miss?

I ask because I have noticed that sometimes when im driving, and not under heavy acceleration, I can feel the car sputter or surge, ususally it is not that noticable although I have had a few instances when I would be goin up a slight incline and the engin would bounce back and forth from say 2K and 1750 RPM, that is noticable. But I never get a check engine light, my first thought was I have a miss and need to do a tune up, the car has 82K miles on it so that is not out of the question unless the plugs had been changed by the previous owner.

If anyone here could tell me that Im goin crazy or if I have a more serious problem on my hands that would be much appreciated. Also does anyone here have an opinion about the auto x-ray scanners particulary the ez scan 6000? Thanks in advance for any replies.

Old 07-19-2006, 09:32 AM
Default RE: Car surges but no check engine light?

When is the last time the fuel filter was replaced? Next thought would be the cat...

Old 07-19-2006, 12:04 PM