Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): 2002 3.4L Stalling Under Load

Old 10-27-2016, 05:44 PM
Unhappy 2002 3.4L Stalling Under Load

Hi,

I need some help working through diagnosing a car that stalls under load.

It idles fine and revs ok under no load, but will buck and stall going up the slightest hill. It's barely drivable right now so it's going to be hard to pull any OBD codes. The last time I pulled the codes for the engine I believe I got a bank 1 too rich (P0172). I also pulled a cylinder head about 3 months ago for a broken valve spring. We're right at 98k miles.

I'm pretty new at fixing cars and would really appreciate your help so I can get my wife back on the road! Where would you start?

Old 10-27-2016, 08:27 PM

I generally don't drive my vehicles if it's doing something weird like you mentioned. What all did you do when you did that cylinder job?

I'd see if you can borrow a scan tool or buy a cheap bluetooth - it will pay for itself many times over if you start repairing you vehicle.

Old 10-28-2016, 03:14 AM

make sure all the sensors are plugged in snug. check the vacuum line on the fuel pressure regulator.....sometimes that rubber elbow cracks and leaks.

According to OBD Codes, receiving error code P0172 may result in no drivability problems, or it may cause misfiring. Some possible solutions to resolving the error include inspecting vacuum hoses, cleaning the mass air flow sensor, inspecting fuel lines for cracks and damage, checking the fuel pressure or cleaning the fuel injectors.

Old 10-28-2016, 03:04 PM

Thanks for getting back to me.

WBody, I went and bought a scan tool today and I pulled the following codes:
P0128: Coolant Thermostat (Coolant Temperature Below Thermostat Regulating Temperature)
P0172: System Too Rich Bank 1