Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): 2001 LS, numerous issues, NOT a mechanic

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2017, 12:53 PM
Default 2001 LS, numerous issues, NOT a mechanic

As my username says, I am not a mechanic. I have a physical handicap that keeps me from being able to work on my car. My limits are pretty much checking and adding oil. You get the idea...

My car is a 2001 Monte Carlo LS with low original miles. Only 80,300 miles. Yes, it was driven by a little old lady. My sister-in-law's grandmother. She took good care of it. When I bought from her in 2012, it had 33k miles. Had to replace the rack and pinion, but otherwise in excellent shape.

It still runs great, but there are numerous little things....

I have indicators on the dash that always stay on: after getting coolant flushed and the sensor replaced, "low coolant" came right back on. After I get tires rotated and balanced and filled, "low tire pressure" comes right back on.

The blinkers work, sometimes. And sometimes they don't. A mechanic told me it was a faulty switch in the hazard button. So, I punch the hazard button a couple times and the blinkers begin working. Not a big deal but a nuisance.

The fuel guage stopped working. Not a big deal either. I always fill up the tank and reset the tripmeter. Easy work around.

Recently, the temp gauge stopped working. I read other posts that said it was simple fix - change the thermostat. I assume that is the case with mine, too. Like the other posts, when the gauge isn't working, a fan stays on after turning off the engine. It's not running hot.

Kinda strange that suddenly the temp gauge started working again. And then quit again. I read others noticed that when the temp is cold, it quits working. That may have been my experience, too, as we are in winter. I just haven't paid attention to that yet.

What do you think is going on with the indicators that stay on?