Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

01 MC SS Fluid Draining Sound!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2009, 09:24 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default 01 MC SS Fluid Draining Sound!!

I have a 2001 Monte Carlo SS. Everytime I come to a stop (stop light or stop sign), it sounds like fluid is draining from my car. Everytime I pull off, it still has the same sound as well while in gear then it goes away (while in motion). I just got my oil and coolant changed so I don't know what could be the problem. Please, any assistance would be greatly appreciated!!!

Old 06-12-2009, 09:30 PM

Monte Of The Month -- July 2009
I'M NOT OLD, I'M JUST WELL MARINATED.
5 Year Member

Does it sound like its inside from the cab?

Old 06-12-2009, 09:41 PM

It sure does! I was thinking it could be from the radiator but IM NO EXPERT.

Old 06-12-2009, 09:43 PM

Monte Of The Month -- July 2009
I'M NOT OLD, I'M JUST WELL MARINATED.
5 Year Member

I'm not really sure of the workings behind the dash of a 6th Gen, but when ever you hear that, your heater core is leaking and there is water in compartment that holds the core.

Another question.

Does your windshield fog up badly? and does it go away when you turn on the A/C?

Old 06-12-2009, 09:52 PM

Yea, It does fogs up BADLY and it does go away when I turn the A/C on. If that is the reason, do you think that could cost a lot to get it repaired? Can I drive with it like that or is it MUST to repair ASAP.
The reason why im asking is because of MONEY SITUATIONS.

Old 06-12-2009, 10:05 PM

I had the same problem, turned out to be a blocked heater core. Had heater core flushed and no more sound. Is the carpet wet or leaking inside the cab. I put up with the noise till I had very little heat coming from the vents. Had to specify heater core at repair shop, not just a coolant flush.

Old 06-12-2009, 10:20 PM