Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Problem with 12v Amp power wire fitting battery. Help please

  #1  
Old 03-12-2012, 10:35 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default Problem with 12v Amp power wire fitting battery. Help please

Everything is hooked up except for my power wire.

First of all, I replaced my busted 15a radio fuse and everything came bak on(with factory stereo) with door chimes and all the commodities. So I get cocky and decide to try to instal my entire system today. Everything worked great, found a perfect, (PERFECT), place to run my power wire and all I needed was a pair of scissors and a long screw driver. I'll put up a thread later to explain how to run it.

But back to my head unit. Aftermarket radio (Dual XDMA6630) does not power on. However, the security light underneath the faceplate blinks constantly. I've tried holding down the reset button but to no avail. So whats wrong?
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-2012, 10:37 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

I also forgot to mention my main problem :|

My amp's power wire's port is too big for my battery's bolt. I'll upload pictures tomorrow to explain better. Am I going I have to get an adapter of some sort?
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-2012, 11:38 PM
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Default

What are you trying to do, with regard to the power wire input on the amp and your batterys bolt? I'm asking cause I don't see what one has to do with the other.
 
  #4  
Old 03-14-2012, 09:46 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

My amp's power wire needs to be connected to my battery's positive port in order to get power to my amp. This is how all amps/sub combinations must be wired. Amp needs power in order to function.
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:14 PM
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Default

Originally Posted by Josh_NGR View Post
My amp's power wire needs to be connected to my battery's positive port in order to get power to my amp. This is how all amps/sub combinations must be wired. Amp needs power in order to function.


Thanks for the little lesson there but you're preaching to the choir brotha.

Part of my confusion is your terminology/description of your problem....your amp doesn't have any ports it's got terminals and I still don't understand what your battery bolt has to do with the power wire terminal on your amp.

It would help if you posted a picture of the terminals on your amp and the end of the power wire you're trying to attach to your battery....low end amps and older one's have terminals that look like this:



Never and better quality amps have terminals that look like this



Either way, the end of the power wire (the end that's not connected to the amp) should be terminated with a ring terminal and can be connected to the battery like this





I hope that helps....here to help if not, or if you have any other questions
 
  #6  
Old 03-18-2012, 11:15 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

1) the ring in my power wire is too big (in width) to fit between my battery's bolt and the battery's port. But I already got my system working. I just needed the GMOS-04

2) why did you connect your power wire to your negative battery terminal?
 
  #7  
Old 03-18-2012, 01:31 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Originally Posted by Josh_NGR View Post
1) the ring in my power wire is too big (in width) to fit between my battery's bolt and the battery's port. But I already got my system working. I just needed the GMOS-04

2) why did you connect your power wire to your negative battery terminal?
how is it too big in width? are you trying to connect it to the fuse box or something?

that's not his power wire, even tho he explained it like it might have been, that's a battery ground rewire but he was showing how it should be connected to the battery.

where did you run your power wire through the firewall?
 
  #8  
Old 03-18-2012, 02:20 PM
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 677
Default

Originally Posted by trewyn15 View Post
how is it too big in width? are you trying to connect it to the fuse box or something?

that's not his power wire, even tho he explained it like it might have been, that's a battery ground rewire but he was showing how it should be connected to the battery.

where did you run your power wire through the firewall?
He is saying on his amp power wire the little ring at the end is too big to go around the battery terminal post thing. To fix this I took the ring off an got another one online. I ran my power wire through the passenger side floorboard. There is this rubber piece you can take out and pull the wire through the engine bay. Get a drill or something to make a hole in the rubber piece the size of your power wire and put the wire through. After that I put silicone so It wont have any hot air coming in or ants of w.e
 
  #9  
Old 03-18-2012, 02:33 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Originally Posted by DRuben View Post
He is saying on his amp power wire the little ring at the end is too big to go around the battery terminal post thing. To fix this I took the ring off an got another one online. I ran my power wire through the passenger side floorboard. There is this rubber piece you can take out and pull the wire through the engine bay. Get a drill or something to make a hole in the rubber piece the size of your power wire and put the wire through. After that I put silicone so It wont have any hot air coming in or ants of w.e
that doesn't make sense tho, if it's too big it should still work fine.

I can see if it was too small, you just have to open up the hole a bit...
 
  #10  
Old 03-21-2012, 08:43 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by DRuben View Post
He is saying on his amp power wire the little ring at the end is too big to go around the battery terminal post thing. To fix this I took the ring off an got another one online. I ran my power wire through the passenger side floorboard. There is this rubber piece you can take out and pull the wire through the engine bay. Get a drill or something to make a hole in the rubber piece the size of your power wire and put the wire through. After that I put silicone so It wont have any hot air coming in or ants of w.e
I just put the power wire on the other side of the bolt and it works fine. And I had to use the jack in my trunk to lift the car up high enough do I could run my power wire through the floorboard.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Problem with 12v Amp power wire fitting battery. Help please


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.