Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Hooking Up Amp and Subs to Stock Radio

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2006, 06:04 PM
Default Hooking Up Amp and Subs to Stock Radio

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum and my first question is, I don't want to remove my stock CD Deck yet, so I asked some audio technichians here in KC about hooking up the amp and subs to my stock radio, and they said yeah, its possible. But I was just wondering if anyone's done it yet, and if so how did you do it. . .and is it very hard to control the bass and things from the stock radio since you don't have the adjustments like you do on an aftermarket headunit? Thanks.

Old 07-12-2006, 06:46 PM
Default RE: Hooking Up Amp and Subs to Stock Radio

Like you I am a newbie to the forum, but right now I have my amp and subs hooked up to my stock stereo. there are a couple of ways to do it depending on your amp. For starters look at your amp signal inputs, usually it is a set of RCA jacks, but some amps also have another set inputs called speaker level input, which is a set of terminals that looks like the speaker output terminals.

If your amp has these speaker level inputs you will have less work ahead of you. Simply put just splice lines off of the rear speakers, a positive and negative line from each speaker, and hook them up to your amp (+ to +) (- to -) for the left and right channels respectivly. That is your signal input, everything else is a normal amp install you will need your power wire from your battery, a ground to the body of the car, and your remote power wire.