Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Crappy sound with aftermarket stereo

  #1  
Old 05-22-2016, 04:14 PM
Briguysmonte82's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default Crappy sound with aftermarket stereo

Hey everyone, why is the sound quality of my aftermarket deck crappy compared to the factory dec? I'm using a JVC KWR920BTS along with the PAC-RadioPro5 Radio Interface RP5-GM11. I changed the rear speakers to JBL GTO938. Left the stock factory amp, 6.5 with tweeters in the doors. The Factory deck has a much better sound quality compared to the JVC. For an example i can turn the volume up not even half way with the factory deck and music would be pretty loud but sounding good, on the other hand the JVC i crank it to say 25-30 the sound isnt as loud and the quality is just poor. I'm pretty disappointed spending almost $400 on all these items and the sound isn't anywhere good as factory.
 

Last edited by Briguysmonte82; 05-24-2016 at 07:54 PM. Reason: Making myself more clearer
  #2  
Old 06-14-2016, 09:03 PM
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 32
Default

Are the gains on the H/U zeroed out?
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-2016, 09:03 PM
Briguysmonte82's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
Default

i have fixed the problem, what i did was bypass the factory amp, the head unit was fighting with the factory amp. once doing that i got the full functioning and sound. thanks for the reply(s).
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-2016, 06:56 PM
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Default Aux input

Does the 2004 monte carlo ls have a aux input
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-2016, 07:06 PM
shawn parker's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2016
1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ronan MT
Posts: 637
Default

Originally Posted by 615jay View Post
Does the 2004 monte carlo ls have a aux input
My 03 doesn't have a aux input
 
  #6  
Old 06-21-2016, 07:11 PM
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by shawn parker View Post
My 03 doesn't have a aux input
Aww ok cause i dont even have a cassette player
 
  #7  
Old 06-21-2016, 08:25 PM
shawn parker's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2016
1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ronan MT
Posts: 637
Default

Originally Posted by 615jay View Post
Aww ok cause i dont even have a cassette player
the 03 came with CD/stereo
but no aux I'm not sure if stereo saw any changes from 03 to 04, and it all depends on what original owner bought
My car still has it's original sale price break down, I'd have to look if stereo was a upgrade or not. I will try to look at it tomorrow
 
  #8  
Old 06-22-2016, 07:00 PM
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 302
Default

You can try an FM transmitter, but wasn't very happy with the quality of sound. I just burn CD's a lot, sorry to hear you don't even have cassette? Try to find a H/U from one that has a CD player maybe?
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-2016, 09:15 PM
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 32
Default

I just installed a pioneer headunit and didn't even need to bypass the amp...just make sure if you're using crimps that they are on there tight. I'd recommend buying a actual crimper instead of using pliers. The wiring harness is like $50
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.