Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Capability

  #1  
Old 09-15-2011, 06:45 PM
Leprechaun93's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- June 2013
Monte Of The Month -- December 2015
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 10,385
Default Capability

Hey everyone, if this has been asked before you all have permission to rip my head off. On the 5th gen monte, what exactly is the oem radio capable of? Could i hook up an amp to it to power a sub or would i have to get an afternmarket radio. Is it capable of anything else, i actually prefer the oem radio over aftermarket and i like having steering wheel functions. so i'm just curious
 
  #2  
Old 09-15-2011, 07:01 PM
MillerMonteSS's Avatar

Can't spell PIMP without an MP
Monte Of The Month -- November 2010
2010 Monte Of The Year
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 2,626
Default

You can hook your amp(s) to the speaker outputs using a low level converter. I am sure that there will be more technical answers to this, but it isn't very hard.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-2011, 07:10 PM
Leprechaun93's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- June 2013
Monte Of The Month -- December 2015
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 10,385
Default

ok, as i'm looking to do is get a mono channel amp and a sub. If i can save myself the trouble of getting a new head unit that would be good.
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-2011, 08:44 PM
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 107
Default

You don't need a new HU at all, really, you can hook up a sub to any stereo. You'll just need a LOC - line output converter. You can get one for $10-20 on ebay...

It's even easier than plugs from an aftermarket unit cuz you don't have to run the wires. Just split it from the rear speakers
 
  #5  
Old 09-15-2011, 09:17 PM
Leprechaun93's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- June 2013
Monte Of The Month -- December 2015
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 10,385
Default

ah brilliant then, but will that still tell the amp when to turn on and off? Dont need it draining the battery.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
wndrby
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
3
09-07-2006 02:48 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Capability


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.