Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Aftermarket head unit problems

  #1  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:02 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default Aftermarket head unit problems

I've recently installed a Dual XDMA6630 with an Axxess GMOS-01 wiring harness in my 2002 SS (I have the Bose amp pushing the factory speakers) and my head unit won't turn on. Even the security light has quit blinking. All of the wires are correctly wired, I've checked several times with extensive research, with no positive result. My head unit worked about a week ago before I installed my amp and subs ( 2 Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 1200 watt amps, with a metric 1900 watt amp mono block) but then the faceplate lost power (red power ring was not on but security light still blinked).
I'm thinking I either need a new wiring harness for my head unit as it has recently stopped showing any signs of power and I believe it was caused by my continual plugging and unplugging of it.
Or do I need te Axxess GMOS-04? Don't really want to spend all too much. (I got my GMOS-01 from best buy)

Also, how do I connect my 12 volt power wire ( schosche 1200 watt wiring kit, 6 gauge 12v red power wire) to my positive terminal on my battery? I have a Duralast but there's not enough room for my power wire's port to connect because of the rubber piece.
 
  #2  
Old 03-10-2012, 01:57 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Check the fuse on the headunit itself and in the fuse box (drivers side door or passenger)

Also for the power wires check my youtube page (in my signature below this post) I have a how to run speaker wires video, just run your rca wires on the other side of the car so there isn't any signal problems, so power down the passenger side and rcas and speakers wires (if you do speakers also) down the passenger side
 
  #3  
Old 03-10-2012, 06:42 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

I don't think te problem is coming from the RCa wire because my head unit's security light doesn't blink. And do you have the 3600 series II SS engine? Just want to get advice from someone who has had similar problems or who have similar models
 
  #4  
Old 03-10-2012, 06:52 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

** 3800 series II SS
 
  #5  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:14 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

It's not the RCA wire, check the fuse if it isn't getting power.

I have the 3400 SFI but the wiring on the interior is vitually the same.

There should be a fuse on the back of the aftermarket headunit and one on either side in the fuse boxes
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:22 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Just put the factory radio back in and security light on it isn't blinking either. Anyone else thinking its the fuse?
 
  #7  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:28 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Where can I get new fuses from?
 
  #8  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:29 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

I can almost guarantee it's the fuse then, it takes about 5 seconds to pull the fuse, just locate the fuse, it will show you on the back of the fuse door/panel, and pull it out, if the metal strip is broken inside the fuse housing, you'll need a new fuse for the radio

Any auto part store will have a new fuse

example: (good fuse on the right, bad fuse on the left)

 

Last edited by red04montels; 03-11-2012 at 12:51 AM.
  #9  
Old 03-12-2012, 12:42 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Driving home tonight after putting my factory stereo on, all of the knobsandnumbers and assorted buttons were illuminated, but no radio function?

Sorry to keep posting, just want to be 100^10% positive
 
  #10  
Old 03-13-2012, 11:41 PM
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Default

It's a good habit to get in to by checking fuses with a multimeter...I've seen many a fuse pass the eyeball test but failed the continuity test. Just trying to save you some grey hairs and busted up equipment (for not being able to find the damn problem) LoL
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Aftermarket head unit problems


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.