Headers/Intake/Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Help out a car noobie?

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2010, 12:26 AM
5 Year Member
Cool Help out a car noobie?

Hey guys...my name is Dean, and I'm 18 living and going to school in Pennsylvania. I just got my Monte Carlo last November as my first car, and I really enjoy it.

The car is a 2001 SS 3.8L V6 with about 80,000 miles, mostly stock parts as far as I can tell. I have some knowledge about cars (my dad is pretty knowledgeable about such things), but it's nothing that wonderful. I'll be headed into the Mechanical Engineering field at school, and I'm hoping to turn this Monte Carlo into my personal learning project, helping me learn more about how it works, while upgrading it in the process.

My first goals for the car are mostly aesthetic, having to do with looks and sound. So that's why I'm here, long-winded introduction aside...

Not having the money to do much else, I was hoping to get a muffler/exhaust tips upgrade to help give the car a deeper, more "muscular" sound.

Basically, I'm looking for your opinions on a cost effective way to upgrade the sound of my Monte Carlo without making it sound like a ricer

Thanks for the help.

Old 08-29-2010, 02:34 AM

welcome to the party yo. look around and feel free to ask around

Old 08-29-2010, 10:37 AM

Really it's hard to make the 3.8 sound "muscular" without some legitimate power mods under the hood. Most things you are going to do that are strictly exhaust follow a double-edged sword methodology in that while you gain one thing, you suffer from another. For example, a lot of people who simply switch out their mufflers have to deal with the droning sound at cruising speed. Some people don't really mind it, some do. It's hard to suggest exhaust mods because what sounds good to one person may not sound good to the next. It's a lot of personal preference.

Old 08-29-2010, 11:18 AM