Headers/Intake/Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

engine running too lean?

  #1  
Old 12-27-2006, 05:41 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 212
Default engine running too lean?

Hey, got my code scanned for my Cat problem, guy said engine was running too lean. I know this means too much oxygen, but could this code be misread by the 02 sensor because of the higherflow downpipe and cat I have?
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:52 AM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: massillon, oh
Posts: 146
Default RE: engine running too lean?

usually a lean running condition is caused by a vacuum leak somewhere. which O2 sensor is reading this. the O2 before the cat, or the one after the cat?
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-2006, 02:35 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 212
Default RE: engine running too lean?

jeez, I dunno. The guy at autozone deleted the code before I could check which sensor. What are common symptoms of a vaccum hose leak?
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-2006, 03:11 AM
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: iowa city, ia
Posts: 520
Default RE: engine running too lean?

lean/rich codes would be set by the pre cat 02
with a vacuum leak i'd expect poor throttle response, high idle or rough idle, lack of power.

the bad news.... lean code could possibly be caused by the modified maf, and theres nothing else wrong.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-2006, 03:43 AM
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: iowa city, ia
Posts: 520
Default RE: engine running too lean?

one other possibility would be that theres an exhaust leak between the cat an manifold. i dont recall where the 02 is off hand, but even if its in the manifold, exhust pulses could draw air up to the 02 and set the code.

just one more thing to worry about :P
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:35 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 212
Default RE: engine running too lean?

probably my new maf, it looks like a piece of **** lol

Ill be going back to the old one...anyone got any ideas how to clean a dirty one?
 
  #7  
Old 12-29-2006, 12:19 AM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: massillon, oh
Posts: 146
Default RE: engine running too lean?

at our shop we use a smoke detector. it is 100% accurate and if you do indeed have a vacuum leak, it will find it.
 
  #8  
Old 12-29-2006, 01:41 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 212
Default RE: engine running too lean?

where do you put the smoke detector? exhaust pipes?
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-2006, 12:33 AM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: massillon, oh
Posts: 146
Default RE: engine running too lean?

you disconnect the hose at the brake power booster and run the hose from the smoke detector into the hose from the booseter to the intake manifold. if you do use this method, you will see some smoke coming from the air filter housing. anywhere else is a vacuum leak. i also forgot to let you know that any exhaust leak will cause a lean condition as well, as said above.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-2006, 03:40 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 212
Default RE: engine running too lean?

my system is clamped, but would a slight slight gap (there are none that I can see or hear) cause a leak? I will be getting it all welded soon but I am curious
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: engine running too lean?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.