Headers/Intake/Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Cat to Res bolts

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2010, 08:11 PM
Default Cat to Res bolts

I jacked up my car tonight to see what I am in for tomorrow when I was planning to install my GMPP Exhaust. The bolts from the cat to the resinator are giving me trouble. First off they are rusted on and I can't get them to budge. How can I get them off? Secondly, they look to be about 1/2 the diameter of ones that came with my cat back exhaust. Will I have to drill out the holes in the flange? I'm new to this so as detailed a response as you can would help me out. Its on a 2002 SS with the stock DP/Cat

Old 03-17-2010, 08:53 PM

PB Blaster those bolts next time you get under there- soak them. The way I've always used was to get a set of those sockets from Craftsman that are made for removing stripped bolts/nuts (they've got these teeth that cut in)- put that on a decently long breaker bar- and they've always popped free fine. I've heard some people use some heat from a torch, but I haven't had ones on there that tight. Do you have a quality impact? That might do the job also if its rated at high enough torque.

Old 03-17-2010, 09:07 PM

x2

soak them up good with penetrating oil, let sit for a couple hrs and repeat if necessary. then if that doesn't work, heat the sh*t out of it with a torch. works for me every time against the ongoing war against rust!! a few curse words and some grunting always helps too

Old 03-18-2010, 07:08 AM

Thanks guys I will give that a try.

Old 03-18-2010, 09:40 AM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Buy the ZZP downpipe and just hack the stocker off

Old 03-18-2010, 07:22 PM

www.wrighttool.com

jk, thought i would try my sales pitch.

yeah 96 has got it down. believe me i work on machinery from the 40's 50's and new stuff too.