General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

sup everybody<newby

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2010, 01:47 PM
Default sup everybody<newby

Hey everyone I just bought a monte carlo because i was looking for a project car and i was trying to find some people that could help me out on things i dont know. Most of the chevy **** I deal with are silverados, and sorry if you admire them but I'm a mechanic and fixing one everyday just doesnt help.

O.K. to the main thing. So I just bought a dark blue 1986 Monte Carlo LS with the 305 and column 3 speed I think. I'm pretty sure its the 350 and not the 200r, but I'm not well enough aware and nor was the guy I bought it from. lol. Just a few things I would like to do.

A. Def needs bigger wheels than the 195's or whatever that comes on it. Just spoke to a guy about getting his 15x10 centerlines, and I was wondering if I have to do any cutting to make wheels fit or whats the biggest wheel I can fit in the well without rubbing? I dont care about turning radius. lol. And whats the biggest tire I can fit on the stock checkerboards until I buy new front rims?

B. Does anyone know where I could get an SS front nose? The cowl hood is easy to find and I'm not really worried about getting that spoiler from an SS. Also, has anyone done a swap and put a manual in? Because everyone keeps telling me not to go with manual for a car in that era especially since finding a manual column is a bitch ( I have a few 400 small blocks lying around and I'm thinking I might build one of those to swap into it. But I'd like to be sure I have an appropriate trans and setup before I go through with the swap).

I think thats it for now but I'll post pics probably this weekend if anyone is interested. Once again, I'm new here just bought the car last week. Name's George and I live on the east coast and thanks for any help.