General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

Standing on your brake pedal isn't fun.

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 12:58 PM
Default Standing on your brake pedal isn't fun.

came around a corner on a bridge going down the highway early this morning going about130km/hr(still dark out) and out of nowhere i see this blue 80's stylemonte carlo broke down in my lane with no shoulder for him to move to.(no hazard lights on)i went to switch lanes but their was a car beside me. so i grabbed my steering wheel and put all 240lbs of me onto the brake pedal. my *** was off my seat.

i stopped with about 2.5 feet of room between us. and i thank the inventor of ABS.

anyone else ever had a "close call" this is my first time hammering the brakes in my MC

Old 10-17-2007, 01:17 PM
Photobucket
Monte Of The Month -- December 2007
Default RE: Standing on your brake pedal isn't fun.

Well yes... But it was me that was being the asre! I was on my way home the other day and it was raining and people were throwing water on my car... Yes, I'm a sick man... So I started passing everyone and I blew by the last car about 120-feet from where I turn into the sub, moving at a very fast clip. Nailed the brakes and actually forgot I had ABS (that would allow me to turn), until I almost slid past the street, and then it dawned on me and I turned the wheel and hit the gas and bingo I was safe. But... I was being an asre for sure... so I lucked out!

Old 10-17-2007, 02:01 PM

Fallen to the Dark Side - Resident Ford Man
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

i taped my brake in a 35 mpg curve going 70 and the rear end started coming around, i knew with teh front wheel drive i may be able to pull the car back stragiht, so i tapped teh gas and held the wheel straight, and just pulled the car right thru the corner....

close one....

Old 10-17-2007, 02:43 PM