General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

some questions from a new member!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2008, 06:49 AM
Default some questions from a new member!!!

hey guys, i'm pretty new to getting into monte carlos, my habit was camaros, i recently got offered a 87ss for my camaro and i don't think i'm going to reject this one, i just have a few questions before i make any assumptions and shoot myself in the foot, it has no motor and needs some body work, but i already do have a motor for it, its a performance built 355 pushing about 350hp to the wheels, i know that the rear end in the car is a 10-bolt, but the guy has no idea if its a posi or not, i was wondering if anyone knows what the gear ratio in those cars were back then, i'm pretty sure its 3.73 posi, but i'm not sure, and do you think that that motor will be pushing to much to the wheels that i'm just going to have to replace it. also, he does have the tranny for it, but i wasn't able to get the numbers offof it tofind out what it is, i think its a turbo 200 but i was wondering what came stock in those cars for thatyear, and would you recommendkeeping it with my setup or upgrading to something like a turbo 350 or 400.any feedback appreciated.

Old 03-07-2008, 07:01 AM
Default RE: some questions from a new member!!!

[align=center]Hi `Kyle, & Welcome to the Monte Carlo Family[/align][align=center]The 3:73 Gear is correct. I think if the unit hasn't been [/align][align=center]abused, and the gears look good ?, it should handle the power.[/align][align=center]If you are going 1/4 mile, a 4:56 would really launch you : )[/align][align=center]Below is Trans in 87SS[/align][align=center][:-]
Transmission(s)