General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

first time enthusiast need help!

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2012, 05:18 AM
Default first time enthusiast need help!

Hi, this is my first time ever having a car that would be worth putting money into. I just got a 88 ls and I would like to increase the performance.
Could you guys give me some suggestions for someone with little mechanical knowledge?

Old 12-17-2012, 05:31 AM

Welcome to the MCF

How many miles on your 88 Monte ?

How is your present engine ? Do you want to mod your V6 ?

Post more about your Monte & also your performance budget & it will help our expert member's assist you in your future plans...

We would also enjoy seeing pictures of your Monte...We love pictures of Monte's on the MCF

Look forward to your reply...

Old 12-17-2012, 06:44 AM
Zen
3 Year Member1 Year Member

What do you have in there for an engine.an what kind of budget you have to work with.
A lot would depend on what you want out of the car.ie a fast car or a show car

Old 12-17-2012, 07:24 AM

Well, the car is the 305 V8 model. The car has 97,000 miles on it. The guy took great care of it. I would like to make this car faster but me still being a college student and my knowledge on auto mechanics isn't that great limits what I can do and what I can spend.

Old 12-17-2012, 07:32 AM

Thanks for your reply & pic

First thing I would do is make sure that you have good tires/brakes/shocks....All fluids/filters/hoses/battery/tune up/ and that everything is in good shape...

How does it run now ? Any major problems ?

If you want power, I'd save for a 5.7L 350 cubic inch engine.
Explore the MCF & you will learn a lot about Monte's + use your search engine on parts/updates & the cost.