General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

Budget performance increases

Old 03-31-2012, 01:37 AM
10 Year Member
Default Budget performance increases

Hello all. Not sure if this is the proper section to post this, but I deemed it the right one. I was just wondering what some good performance increases I could make on a budget. I was thinking about doing that sleeper CAI-style mod in the 5th gen thread, but I was wondering if anyone had other ideas. My car has a 3100 in it currently. On another note, my friend's dad has a Z34 5th gen that won't start, and he said he will give me the engine and other parts for an extremely cheap price. I was thinking about picking it up and modifying the heck out of it, then putting it into my car when it was finished...does that sound like a better idea than trying to modify my 3100? I also just want to get into modifying things and doing stuff from scratch. I am new to Monte's; I am used to Volkswagen's since that is what my dad had and was in an enthusiast group for a while, so that's all I heard about. Sorry for the long post, I am just looking for help on all this since nobody I ask seems to be able to answer me without either immediately shutting me down or telling me to save up and just get a new car.

Old 03-31-2012, 02:00 AM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

What engine is in the Z34? If it's the DOHC then there's basically no market for modding, if it's the 3400 then it's virtually the same as your current 3100 but with larger LIM and UIM ports along with the throttle body, also there are larger exhaust ports on the 3400.

Old 03-31-2012, 02:08 AM
10 Year Member

Actually, I'm not sure if it actually is a Z34, but he said it has the 3800 in it, so I assumed that's what it is.

Old 03-31-2012, 05:22 AM