General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

86 monte

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2006, 10:35 PM
Default 86 monte

im new to the whole monte carlo scene and my buddy is selling his monte and i just had a couple questions. its a 86 h/o 305. its got 85k on it and its auto. the only major thing it needs is a heatercore. what are some things i should look out for? and does anyone have any suggestions/comments/concerns? your help is greatly appreciated.

Old 04-19-2006, 04:04 AM
Default RE: 86 monte

not real sure cant remember if that is the year they had the bubbel on the hood in the high out put version or not.

If it is they were nice cars.

I have owned several monte carlos and can honestly say they run great and for a long time if you dont beat them to death to bad.

Im not a light footed drivier but i dont spin the tires ever chance i get .

as far as the 80's model. In genreal they were a decent car. the only things you can make sure to watch out for is the typical rust spots and the lower fenders. and also the bad ground wires that seem to follow and pleg the monte carlos. if they dont have a good ground they will not start for shiza.

also for the most part the heater core is not to tuff to get ot on that car everything is behind the glove box and on the pass. side fire wall. not to bad to do from what i can remeber.

it is a full framed car so as long as there is no rust int eh frameand it is solid you can pretty much build a motor to your liking and the car will take it.
my bracket car was pushing 575Hp to teh rear tires and was about 600 to theflywheel it was a screamer and never even thought of hurting the fram on the 78 it was in.

Good luck and enjoy it if you can get it cheap i would be all over it.

Old 04-19-2006, 06:09 PM

thanks alot. im gonna pick it up for 1000$ prob. so im looking forward to it.

Old 04-19-2006, 07:46 PM