Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

SLP Pulley

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2007, 09:42 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default SLP Pulley

Has anyone had any experience with this setup?

http://www.slponline.com/view_product.asp?P=100227

I was curious as to what size pulley they utilize and how safe it really is without supporting exhuats mods and etc.

Old 10-31-2007, 09:46 PM
Default RE: SLP Pulley

I am new to Superchargers as well i was checking out these pulleys because of the talk on this forum. My question is do this pulleys damage the superchargers what mods do i have to make to really increase HP. the link to this SLP looks cool I'd spend 236 for 25 HP that won't damage my Supercharger and Cause premature failure.

Old 11-01-2007, 05:50 AM

Its not so much the actual charger you need to worry about, but moreso the motor.

What happens is, the more boost you build (on a bone stock engine), the more KR you get (knock retard). This is when the computer picks up a "knock" in the cylinder and attempts to correct by retarding the timing. Essentially, if the only mod you did to your car was bolt on a pulley, the knock would go up since there are no supporting modifications.

...now my theory would be if the vehicle is getting colder, more free-flowing air, a 180 tstat,and there is some type of marginal exhaust work being done, then knock should be reduced if not non existant at our regular boost levels...giving us the opportunity to go up in boost.

my main concern is what size exactly IS that pulley because if its any smaller than 3.5....MAYBE 3.4 (but thats stretching it), it cant be that safe.

Old 11-01-2007, 08:31 AM

ok,
so i just got off the phone with slp. They claim that there pulley is a 3.5" and that it is completely safe to run on a stock motor. No aditional tuning is required, factory belt and tensioner can be used and boost should increase by 2lbs.