Low Oil Pressure Light!!!???? - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Low Oil Pressure Light!!!????

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 11-14-2009, 01:45 PM
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default Low Oil Pressure Light!!!????

Today after driving for about 5 minutes my low oil pressure light popped on. I immediately turned the car off and checked the oil. The oil level was fine, in was right in the middle of the 4 dots. I added about a 1/4 quart to be safe and this took it up to the 3rd dot. I then drove the car another 10 miles without a problem and no light. Engine runs fine, idles fine, does not overheat. No SES lights.

Any idea what the heck this could be? Maybe the sensor? The car is a 2000 LS with 127k miles and overall doing well.

Thanks.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2009, 02:36 PM
Budsjlm's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2016
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Posts: 7,725
Default

my guess is tge sensor
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2009, 02:41 PM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 2,418
Default

the oil sending might be going bad on your monty i would change it.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2009, 03:56 PM
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

ok, anyone know where the sensor is located on a 2000 monte?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2009, 03:10 PM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 2,418
Default

it should be on the bottom back side of the engine im not sure because of not knowing the type of engine you have is it the 3.4 3.8 or the 3.9?
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2009, 12:11 PM
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 21
Default Just changed my oil pressure sensor Sunday

I have a 2000 SS monte. The sensor is SO EASY TO REPLACE! Only thing is you need a special socket to unscrew the OPS (I got one at Pep Boys- BUT NOTE! THE ONE I GOT AT PEP BOYS IS A EXTRA LONG SOCKET- ABOUT 1.5 inches- IT WAS DIFFICULT TO FIT IN THE VERY TIGHT AREA TO REMOVE SENSOR. So, try to get a shorty socket)...

Location/direction

1) Lift car on passenger side. place on jack stand (p.s. sears has a killer sale on a nice 2 1/4 ton jack and stands- should have bought these years ago!).
2) Remove the passenger front tire (to make it easier to get to sensor). The sensor is about the size of a roll of quarters (I bought one at GM dealership for $24) and is located right to the left of the oil filter.
3) Unclip the old sensor (so easy)
4) use the special socket to remove old sensor.
5) add a bit of oil to the new sensor's screw input and insert new sensor.
6) clip in new sensor

so easy and very rewarding...
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:31 PM
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Windy City, Chi-Town
Posts: 416
Default

i see thats what i need to do as well because i am having the same problem. i also topped my oil off with an extra quart and it still reads low oil. which there is no leaks no where.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2009, 08:38 PM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Somerset, MI
Posts: 3
Default

I found the following article when I searched for 'Low Oil Pressure Light' on Google. Very interesting read:

http://www.aa1car.com/library/us1097.htm

I also recently purchased my Monte with a spun rod bearing. When I removed the oil filter adapter from the block, the oil passages were filled with sludge. Oil returning to the engine was severely restricted. You might want to pull yours off. $3.25 for the gasket at the dealer.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2011, 12:42 AM
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: miami, florida
Posts: 49
Angry my oil pressure needle goes on low sometimes while im driving

why my oil pressure needle goes all the way back to low and stay there while engine is running , and i recently got an oil change the oil is at the right level the car runs good can any body help me solve this problem.
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:39 AM
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 722
Default

can any body help me solve this problem
Scroll up 4 posts.

RussellUCF posted how to change your oil pressure sensor.

If you can't do that, take the car to a shop.
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Low Oil Pressure Light!!!????


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.