Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

just blew my engine. what is needed for a l67 install

  #1  
Old 04-21-2017, 10:49 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 36
Default just blew my engine. what is needed for a l67 install

so i just blew my engine (l32)
 

Last edited by darkmage1991; 08-15-2018 at 01:24 AM.
  #2  
Old 04-22-2017, 12:14 AM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: n/a
Posts: 841
Default

Don't use l36 flexplate. It is balanced different. Either use the converter from the l67 donor or slot the l67 holes for your converter.
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-2017, 07:54 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 36
Default

hmm
also i got it all installed and running. i just found a stock 04 monte supercharged hpt on hptuners repository and copied all the values onto mine except the transmission values.
 

Last edited by darkmage1991; 08-15-2018 at 01:24 AM.
  #4  
Old 04-23-2017, 08:49 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,213
Default

Originally Posted by darkmage1991 View Post
yea, i read up on all that. most seem to agree though that the 3800 is internally balanced and that they have ran the l36 flexplate for years without issues.
Not sure where you heard it was internally balanced, there is a rather large weight on the flexplate and in the balancer. See image below (which also shows the drastic difference between an NA and SC plate):



Sure people have run them without rebalancing anything, but why would you want to, especially after you just toasted an engine?

Just re-drill your SC balancer for the new converter. That's a far better short term solution.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-2017, 09:47 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 36
Default

Originally Posted by bumpin96monte View Post
Not sure where you heard it was internally balanced, there is a rather large weight on the flexplate and in the balancer. See image below (which also shows the drastic difference between an NA and SC plate):



Sure people have run them without rebalancing anything, but why would you want to, especially after you just toasted an engine?

Just re-drill your SC balancer for the new converter. That's a far better short term solution.
the big issue here is the donor car didnt have a transmission. so there was no torque converter nor flexplate to use. and i need a car right now. either way the current flexplate and transmission is temporary until i get the money for the triple edge one.(3 months most likely)
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-2017, 03:40 AM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: n/a
Posts: 841
Default

Grind the holes in the l67 plate. You WILL cause damage with the l36 plate
 
  #7  
Old 04-24-2017, 03:40 AM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: n/a
Posts: 841
Default

And transmissions don't come with flexplates
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-2017, 02:51 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 36
Default

Originally Posted by l67ss View Post
And transmissions don't come with flexplates
that im sure is dependent on the junk yard. cause this motor came with no flex plate. but the motor is back in the car and its running. the transmission will be pulled out and swapped when i get the new one.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-2017, 07:21 PM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 2,442
Default

I have a question for you bumpin I did a 3.8 n/a swap from my 3.5 to that 3.8 right now I got a flex plate from a supercharged one to see if it would start and idle. it did but I don't want to hurt my trans. would that weight do that much damage? if I drove it around the block. I do have a set of supercharged heads cam and right now saving to get a good remand supercharger. would the supercharged flex plate do harm? I wanted to ask because I know the internals of my 4t has the double chain and majority of what the hd has because I asked the shop to put the best in. but I wanted to ask because of the work you have done to your 3.8. plus I wanted to get input from you because of that good looking thing you have
 
  #10  
Old 04-24-2017, 10:30 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,213
Default

Originally Posted by darkmage1991 View Post
the big issue here is the donor car didnt have a transmission. so there was no torque converter nor flexplate to use. and i need a car right now. either way the current flexplate and transmission is temporary until i get the money for the triple edge one.(3 months most likely)
3800s are in junkyards everywhere, I'm surprised you couldn't find a used flexplate somewhere. Even if it's just temporary, is it really worth the risk considering what an engine costs?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.