Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Intake Gasket Replacement!

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2008, 09:45 AM
Default Intake Gasket Replacement!

Okay, so I brought my car into a mechanic to have the engine checked out since a different mechanic said i needed a new engine. Well, they said that I needed new intake & head gaskets & it would run me about 800$.. I've been checking out prices for intake gaskets & whatnot for a 1995 Monte Carlo Z34, 3.4L V6 & it's only about 100$ for the gaskets.. Are they overpricing me on labor or what? & is it really THAT impossible to find a rebuild engine for that kind of car? They're exuse was "It's a high-performance machine & that's why they're so hard to find".. I would just like to know if I'm going to be paying too much for this. If anyone has an idea.. Get back to me ASAP! Thanks.

Old 04-23-2008, 11:56 AM
Monte Of The Month -- March 2007
5 Year Member
Default RE: Intake Gasket Replacement!

make sure they put intake manifold gasket #'s MS98003T thats the problem solver kit from felpro, if they dont put them on then you'll just be doing this again in another 20-40k

there's people up here that will do them for about 300-500$ not including parts, but they work in their garages, but they're still good

if your doing the heads too get this part # instead

HST9071PT1 make sure its got the T in it so you get the improved intake problem solver kit in it, basically they have metal inserts instead of plastic

Old 04-23-2008, 03:17 PM

the problem is it takes some time if you dont know what your doing. they know itll take you 15 hours to do, so they say it takes them 12... even though it might take them 10.

Old 04-23-2008, 03:24 PM
5 Year Member

i think thats what book probably says, but a good mechanic should be able to do it in 5-6 hours, i dunno though