Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Blank Canvas

Old 07-08-2011, 03:12 PM
Default Blank Canvas

I'm a career Soldier that just bought an '87 Monte that has no engine or transmission. This is my first "toy", and I want to do it right. I have no problems gettting grease under my nails, but I can only do basic stuff. My wife is currently taking some basic automotive tech classes at the local college, so I want to try to do as much as possible myself, with what little funds I can scrape together. Also, I have an uncle close by with a junk yard, so I should be able to source most anything with ease. Knowing all this, here is my question...

What motor/tranny combo would be a good start? The car will mainly be my weekend driver, and I have no plans of ever putting it on a track. With that being said, I would still like something with a bit of go to it...a little smile on demand if you will.

Thank you all for any help you can give.

Old 07-09-2011, 12:04 PM