Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

305 rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2013, 05:46 PM
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default 305 rebuild

Hi everyone. I have a question. I took the 305 out of my 87 Monte, and I wanted to rebuild it just to see if I could. It's my first try at this in a long time and I was assisted by my auto shop teacher when I did rebuild one before. This motor I'm tearing down now ran when I pulled it, just the valve seals were leaking really bad. Can I check all the journals and other critical surfaces, cylinder walls etc. and if everything looks good just buy standard size, OEM style pistons and bearings and slap the bottom end back together the way I took it apart with a standard size rebuild kit? Or would I have to take it to a machine shop no matter what? That's the part I want to avoid. This engine isn't worth a whole lot to me so I want to keep it around $500. I might put it in our farm use truck and go 4 wheeling.

Oh BTW, everybody who knows a lot about these small blocks knows the car engines got roller cams in 87 along with centerbolt valve covers. My car is an 87 so the factory engine had a roller cam stock. From a purely cost oriented standpoint, is it possible to run a hydraulic flat tappet cam in a roller block without any mods? I know the roller cam is way better, but they are also way more expensive. Especially if you want to run roller lifters and rockers too.

I appreciate the help in advance! Thanks!

Old 05-19-2013, 07:15 PM