Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > Monte Carlo Repair Help
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:02 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default 2003 SS Wont Start! Cranks over but wont fire up. Help please!

Went to start up my 03 SS Monte this morning and cranked over but wouldnt fire up no matter what. Had this car for two years and havent had any problems. I sprayed some starting fluid in there, nothing... I checked for spark from the wires, nothin...I also checked all the fuses. Im not familiar with all this electrical stuff on this car any information would be great! I just need somewhere to begin!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2011, 01:51 AM
biggriggs's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 722
Default

If you're not getting spark, then you figured out why the engine won't fire.
Now you gotta figure out why it's not getting spark.

An issue with the ICM maybe?
__________________
2004 Monte Carlo SS Intimidator #3470/4000
N*tb-3.25"mps-Gen5-zzp s2ic-1.9 rockers-TOG headers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2011, 06:26 PM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,427
@nitehawkjcb Beech House @nitehawkjcb
Send a message via Yahoo to nitehawkjcb
Default

Could be the ICM or crank sensor if you're not getting spark. I recommend checking the fuel pressure anyway.
__________________

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/788651
'96 Monte Carlo
April 2012 MOTM
Expert PC Computer Repair
13.81@102
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2011, 10:47 PM

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 435
Default

I would suspect crank sensor because the ignition module and coils are pretty reliable on 3800's. Is the engine light on when you turn the key to run? If not the PCM could be toast but I'd get a tech at a good garage to scope the crank signal the wires from the crank sensor go direct to the PCM which is inside the stock air filter casing so it's easy to test there.
__________________
13 years experience working on cars. Yeah I can fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2011, 04:28 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I pulled the ICM out and brought it down and had it tested and it passed everytime. All the coils are good as well. The engine light does come on when I try and start it. I was told the PCM's rarely go out so im guessing my next thing is the crank sensors like you suggested. That would require me to have the car towed to a mechanic shop right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:50 AM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,427
@nitehawkjcb Beech House @nitehawkjcb
Send a message via Yahoo to nitehawkjcb
Default

No. Just buy a 3800 harmonic balancer/crank pulley puller off ebay. I got one for like 30 bucks. Remove serpentine belt. Remove crank pulley. Remove crank sensor, replace crank sensor, reassemble. Took me like an hour, and I was bull****tin.
__________________

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/788651
'96 Monte Carlo
April 2012 MOTM
Expert PC Computer Repair
13.81@102
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2011, 08:38 AM

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 435
Default

You don't need to remove the harmonic ballancer to replace the crank sensor. Have the PCM checked for codes. If it has a crank sensor code 2 scenarios could play out 1: the sensor could be bad. 2: it may have a small amount of rust pushing the sensor away from the crank shaft and it isn't getting a strong enough reading. Even if there isn't a code I've seen the rust thing do that. Make sure the location that the sensor goes into is clean metal on the block but only use a scraper or razor blade, don't use any type of grinder.
__________________
13 years experience working on cars. Yeah I can fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2011, 07:09 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Okay I guess I will have the pcm codes checked out and go from there. Guy quoted me like 150 to have it diagnosed was just trying to avoid having it towed to the shop But i appreciate the help. Ill post what they diagnose
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-2011, 10:21 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I bought a new crankshaft position censor and Im installing it in the morning. Any and all help with the install would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:21 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
03, 05, 2004, carlo, crank, cranks, fire, gas, monte, sensor, ss, start, starting, turn, wont


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.