Paint/Body Work/Exterior For discussions about painting your Monte, body work, and other exterior mods.

Maaco paint job worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2013, 06:43 PM
1 Year Member
Default Maaco paint job worth it?

So here before to long I want to get my paint touched up and a few rust bubbles taken care of as well. My front bumber has a lot of knicks in the paint that you can't see from a few steps back but I know they are there and it annoy's the hell out of me. And I really want to start taking my Monte to car shows at some point so I really just want everything touched up and have the rust bubbles taken care of before that gets out of hand. Would you guys every recommend Macco just for like touch up stuff or should I just save my money up and have it competely re-sprayed? I'm a college student so I am trying to figure out ways to make my car really nice with what I got.

Old 03-17-2013, 06:50 PM
Monte Of The Month -- June 2013
Monte Of The Month -- December 2015
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

Depends on the color of your car, if its black, touch up spots will probably never exactly match.

Old 03-17-2013, 06:56 PM
1 Year Member

Mine is victory red

Old 03-17-2013, 07:08 PM

Don't waste the money at Maaco - I have a relative that works for Maaco down in Charlotte. They don't do prep work worth a ****, which is the key to a good looking and lasting paint job. Rust repair, they're just going to sand it, maybe put some Bondo on it and repaint it. The rust will be back in less than a year.

Old 03-17-2013, 07:09 PM
Monte Of The Month -- November 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2015
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member