Off Topic A place to kick back and discuss non-Monte Carlo related subjects. Just about anything goes.

PICS: On-going exterior tile project of mine

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2018, 11:28 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default PICS: On-going exterior tile project of mine

Some of you know I do tile installation for a living. wanted to share a few photos of my current job. It is a damn nightmare for sure. Taking every bit of my skills to make it work. I hate it some days and others it is okay. The pressure is on as it is a home here in Utah for a somewhat famous person. Clues, he went to Brigham Young University in Provo, Ut. Played as a QB for the Sf 49ers ad now is a football analyst on ESPN. Been here 2 months s far and probably 2 left just on the exterior, then 5 bath rooms inside.

These tiles are unique in that they are 39"H x 116"L x 1/8th" thick, made of porcelain and are quite fragile before their installation. Use large racks with 8 suction cups to transport them. To cut them we score them with a glass cutter and snap them. I have to go 40 ft up on one section of scaffolds and then still have the 5' x 5' x 7' chimney to clad. Lucky the weather here has been ideal, cool enough that it permits me to comb out large areas of the bonding mortar and apply the tile before the mortar skins over. If it was much hotter than the 20's and 40's we have had, the job would be significantly more difficult. This is the 1st wood framed residential structure in the U.S. to receive these "Thin body" tiles. I have no technical support, just submit my procedures in depth and get answers back like "That should work" They are made in Spain and are new to the U.S. market with this line of thin tiles. I'm the guniea pig tile contractor...