Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   New Member Area (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/new-member-area-4/)
-   -   3.8 engine swap (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/new-member-area-4/3-8-engine-swap-60867/)

clemmy 06-11-2019 02:52 PM

3.8 engine swap

I have a 2001 Monte Carlo SS and need to swap out the 3.8 engine from a 2001 SS donor car, the engine in mine has 266k miles and the doner car only has 76k.. I am going to try and unplug the main harness by the battery and remove the harness instead of fighting all the connections, this is my first time doing a engine swap where the procedure removes engine and tranny from the bottom.. if anyone could please help me with a list of what I need to unhook or remove.. I would be greatly thankful for the info.. I know I have to remove the air box, fuel lines tranny lines, brake calipers from the rotors, ac lines and pull the pipe apart at the donut gasket.. if anyone could give me any info that would help I would greatly be thankful..

Jeffs02rwdSS 06-11-2019 07:29 PM

To remove to cradle you need to separate the lower ball joints and pull axels , remove bolts from the steering rack which is easier if you remove the sway bar links. Ground wires are on lower bolts of transportation along with starter wires. Power steering pump and AC need to be removed . There's still all the electric ,cooling , fuel to remove. I'm wondering , why do all that work to pull the engine ? You can leave transmission in car and pull the engine without removing the hood and doing less work in my opinion.

clemmy 06-20-2019 02:55 AM

Originally Posted by Jeffs02rwdSS (Post 717872)