Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2020, 04:10 PM
Default Need Help

Hello Monte Carlo Enthusiasts.

I am new to using forms so I apologize if this is incorrect. I am trying help my granddaughter with he 2002 Monte Carlo SS Dale Earnhardt edition, 3.8 L

A little bit of back ground on the car. It only has 89,000 miles on it. It got in a flood that only got into the floor board of the car. Then her dad let it sit for a few months. Battery went dead, he installed a new battery and got the car to my house. I pulled all the seats out, center console, all the carpet, I had all the under dash out and inspected and the only ECU that was under water was the one under the passenger seat. Inspected inside the ECU connector and all pins were clean and dry. I believe this is the ABS module?? Any way I got it all dried out and back to gather, did a break job on it, drove it, removed the oil pan and replaced the pan gasket/seal, also replaced the front engine crank seal, polished the cars paint was also flushing the coolant system. Then one day the battery went dead. I replaced it with a new one a week later that battery went dead, replaced it under warranty. I see the battery voltage was dropping while hooked up. Started at 12.35 volts and then dropping to 11.78 volts. I run a amp draw test and only show 0.001 amp draw, even when I would open the car door, the lights would not light up ether. So I was running it one day heating up to continue with the coolant flush and also try to figure why the rear window defroster does not work. I had shut it off and about ½ hour later I started it up, and it died right away and now the problem.