Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   Headers/Intake/Exhaust (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/)
-   -   resonator (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/resonator-1061/)

victoryred05 11-16-2005 01:03 AM

resonator

now i have been reading all of the post and most of u refer to the resonator. Now my question is WHAT THE HELL IS IT AND WHERE IS IT LOCATED? now it may sound odd but i do know my way around a car im no expert but i just dont know where the resonator is , i probabaly know it as a diff name some please inform me thanks

montejass 11-21-2005 12:28 PM

RE: resonator

The resonator is located between your CAT and mufflers. From the engine follow the pipes, the first football shaped thing is your CAT, the second part will be the resonator, it's quite long I would say about 3 foot long and cylindrical. It is there to quite the exhaust system. I've heard that if you replace it with a glasspack or a high flow race muffler in conjunction with Flowmasters the sound is incredible

victoryred05 11-22-2005 01:27 AM

ohhh ok, now what i was thinking is i own a LS model so not to fast and powerfull as the SS, so i bet flowmasters and resonator removel would be perfect for the SS because it has the 'stones' to backup that aggresive flowmaster sound, sadly the LS would be like a tiny dog all bark no bite. NOW dont get me wrong I am a owner off these 3.4 models and WAS/AM thinking of flows but very much undecided ........ IS THEIR ANYONE OUT THIER WITH THE 3.4 WITH FLOWS , AND IS THIER A NOTICEABLE POWER INCREASE, PLEASE HELP

00montess 02-07-2006 03:52 PM

ORIGINAL: montejass