Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   Headers/Intake/Exhaust (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/)
-   -   new exhaust? (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/new-exhaust-32777/)

konakelowna 12-16-2011 04:15 PM

new exhaust?

hi, everyone i've been thinking about doing some modifications to my monte's exhaust system. I dont want to do anything too serious that would cost alot of money since i am a student. I was wondering if maybe it was possible to remove some stock features that will increase the flow and improve the sound. would remoivng the cat and resonator be enough? would getting rid of these features mess with the cars computer system (o2 sensors)? would it sound good to straight pipe everything up to the mufflers but leave the mufflers? or maybe leave everything and remove the mufflers?

Im just wondering if doing any of this would make improvement and sound good or be a waste of time. Please give me some suggestions or anything that has worked for you with your monte carlo.

-thanks

Boxman420 12-16-2011 04:22 PM

what year and what motor? i took the muffler on my 01 3.4L and did a Y pipe. cost about 180$ with SS 3.5in weld on tips. sounds great IMO

konakelowna 12-16-2011 06:40 PM

its a 2001 ss, it has the 3.8

thanks for your input

blueSS 12-16-2011 08:23 PM

Get a downpipe with U-bend delete and highflow cat from ZZP. All bolt on.. I just did it to my 01 monte ss

The_Maniac 12-16-2011 11:38 PM

I agree with BlueSS, ZZP 2.5" DP with high flow cat. I also vote resonator delete (that's how my Monte is).
Some say the exhaust is "droney" with out the res, I notice very little change (sounds a little tinny, but I'm OK with it).

Any cat change may result in an erroneous Check Engine code. I believe it's a P0420 code. Fixes for that are: