Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   Headers/Intake/Exhaust (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/)
-   -   Flowmaster exhaust (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/flowmaster-exhaust-10841/)

biggriggs 10-09-2008 03:21 AM

Flowmaster exhaust

I'm looking to upgrade the stock exhaust on my 2001 Monte LS. It's currently the stock single muffler, but I want to upgrade to a dual muffler setup (I know that there are cutouts for the dual exhaust on the underbody already, so it's just a matter of getting the setup and welding it up.

How much should I be looking to spend at an exhaust shop for both mufflers, y-pipe, tips, and welding?

Thanks,

Riggs.

BLANK23 10-09-2008 10:20 AM

RE: Flowmaster exhaust

I'm no expert, but I had a custom cat back y-pipe (2.5 pipes) put on my Monte at Car-x and it ran me about $400. They'll order everything for you and mount it in about an hour. Whether you get performance mufflers or not that is up to you ( not sure how much they would charge you....). I just put on my own mufflers afterward because i had them already and it was cheaper for me. That is not including any tips, but you can order pretty much any kind of tips at auto zone or O'Reillys for about $7 each, the only difference is that they are screwed on instead of welded. Car-x was prepared to charge me $50 for each tip for them to weld them on. Hope that gets you in the ballpark of what you'll be payin'.

biggriggs 10-09-2008 11:34 AM

Hey, thanks. Stopped by a local meineke and got a quote. They said to do everything after the cat (not including u-bend), it would be 550. This includes the y-pipe, drivers side hanger since it's currently single exhaust, two flowmaster mufflers, and tips and labor of course.

BLANK23 10-09-2008 01:11 PM

Nice, have fun with it

06MCLTZ 10-10-2008 01:35 PM