Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   Headers/Intake/Exhaust (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/)
-   -   7th Gen ('06-'07): Difficulty in removing 2006 Muffler / Res (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-13/difficulty-removing-2006-muffler-res-55666/)

Dakota_Broderick 03-08-2016 01:20 PM

Difficulty in removing 2006 Muffler / Res

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this site (just found it today as a matter of fact) and it looks like the community is very helpful!

I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to vehicle modifications. I enjoy digging into my vehicles to see how different things work and attempting to fix whatever I can!

ANYWAY my question you everyone pertains to how difficult is it to remove the stock muffler and resonator? as well as replacing it with an aftermarket muffler to give er a little more character! I'm not a solid welder so I would most likely want to use couplers and fittings! (I'm a poor college student). I would love some advice with the process, some do's and dont's, etc. I have what I think to be all the correct tools and a shop to do all this work in. I just wanna check with the experts here before I screw anything up too terribly!

Thank you all for the advice!!! :)

ChibiBlackSheep 03-08-2016 01:42 PM

I would just purchase a cat-back exhaust, and place it on with the provided clamps.

Not difficult at all :thumbsup:

Dakota_Broderick 03-08-2016 02:16 PM

Awesome I will look into that! Thank you for the reply!!

Tadcaster 03-08-2016 03:23 PM

I installed a cat-back on my 06 Monte SS (Magnaflow)

Now if you want to delete the resonator (I did) you will have to go to a muffler shop and have them cut you a straight pipe to replace the resonator (take good measuments on the length) and weld a flange on it to fit up to the cat

Dakota_Broderick 03-08-2016 04:36 PM