Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   General Monte Carlo Talk (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/general-monte-carlo-talk-9/)
-   -   So i got my Touch screen stereo now i need help (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/general-monte-carlo-talk-9/so-i-got-my-touch-screen-stereo-now-i-need-help-38013/)

16With01MonteSS 07-28-2012 08:50 PM

So i got my Touch screen stereo now i need help

Sorry for all the questions lately guys i appreciate everyone who has answered me and helped... But how hard is it to install a touchscreen stereo i already have a aftermarket and i have some knowledge on how to do it but not completely sure. Will i just have to follow my old cords and it will be easier with the help of my grandfather who is good with cars? or shall i take it in and get it done for 70$ at a local store.

DE02Carlo 07-28-2012 08:55 PM

I went by a stereo store to price one and on top of the cost of the unit I needed about $250 worth of adaptors. One because I have OnStar...

01 Monte SS 07-28-2012 09:19 PM

$70 doesn't sound too bad.. does that included new harnesses/adapters/etc.? If so I'd say do it.. I spent about $70 on the harness and dash piece and did it myself but I don't think stereos are too terribly hard.

$250 seems crazy lol. I had onstar too but I removed the box :thumbsup:

16With01MonteSS 07-28-2012 09:25 PM

Originally Posted by DE02Carlo (Post 481959)
I went by a stereo store to price one and on top of the cost of the unit I needed about $250 worth of adaptors. One because I have OnStar...

i also have onstar but i but the adaptor with my first aftermarket stereo for like 125 just for the adaptor to stop onstar so im all set on that luckily!

16With01MonteSS 07-28-2012 09:26 PM

Originally Posted by 01 Monte SS (Post 481963)