Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   General Monte Carlo Talk (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/general-monte-carlo-talk-9/)
-   -   Info: Oil, oil, oil (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/general-monte-carlo-talk-9/oil-oil-oil-60648/)

Skatulaki 03-23-2019 10:19 PM

Oil, oil, oil

I have noticed in the last 2 or 3 years that the composition of motor oil available has drastically changed, and it also changed somewhat during the 3 or 4 years prior to that.
In addition to that, I've noticed on forums a lot of premature engine failures where rod bearings are worn out !
I've been running 20w-50 Synthetic the last few years but you can't hardly find that anymore. Everything is 0W, 5W, 10W, that might work in Minnesota, but in Florida that is too thin. Yes this is a Monte Carlo forum, and yes I have one that I dont drive. I have been driving Grand Cherokee's for many years and on my 3rd one. But my issue here is OIL !
In my 85, it had a lot of miles on it when I got it, the durable 4.0, it was pushing 200k when I got it, well pass 300k when I lost it. I had been running straight 40w in it the whole time, no problems, generally wouldn't need to add any oil, bought tires from Tire Kingdom, asked them do oil change and to use Straight 40 in it. 3000 miles later it froze up, no oil. I'm convinced they put 10-30 in it, and it just watered through. Next Jeep a 97 180k , couldn't find 40W anymore, so I started buying top rated 20w-50, instead of the usual 10-30, 10-40. Got that to almost 350k when it started randomly quitting on the highway, so I got my 3rd Grand Cherokee a 2002 with 147k, and ran mainly Valvoline Syn 20w-50 and it now has about 250k on it, but I have to add a quart frequently, at least 1 or 2 every 5000 miles. It was about the same with my 97 I had previously, had to add a quart every so often.