Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   General Monte Carlo Talk (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/general-monte-carlo-talk-9/)
-   -   Info: Front End Covers (Bras) (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/general-monte-carlo-talk-9/front-end-covers-bras-60406/)

06mistreSS 12-06-2018 07:13 AM

Front End Covers (Bras)

Front End Covers – Colgan Custom vs. LeBra

Who else has and uses one on theirs? I’ve had experiences with both Colgan Custom in the past (I had one of theirs for my 2003 SS) and currently LeBra which I’ve been using on my 2006 SS for seven years now. The LeBra is okay and does what it’s supposed to – the downside to the LeBra is the hood piece significantly scratches the paint along the hem after it’s been on the car and driven with each time. I don’t feel I should have to buff out the line of scratches it makes each time – either it’s not tight enough or the hem isn’t padded properly, or both. Because of that, I personally don’t use my hood piece anymore. Bottom line – I would have bought a Colgan Custom front cover but they don’t make them for the 06-07 so I’m stuck with the LeBra. If you can, I’d recommend Colgan hands down.

Colgan Custom > Looks and feels high quality. Removable. Very snug, tight fit. Thick material. Fully padded inside. $208.

LeBra > Quality is okay. Removable. Tight fit but not super snug; appears it may stretch out a bit over time. Thinner material. Inside is only padded around the hems (and it's questionable the way it's done). $105.

Clear Bra > Basically invisible. Once applied, it stays on the car indefinitely and can be washed over as you'd normally wash the vehicle. Depending on how often it's exposed to the elements, it can shrink and crack over time. Edge can accumulate debris over time. $800+ professional install (can diy for significantly less).

How a removable bra should be used properly