Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   FWD Tech Guides '95-'07 (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/fwd-tech-guides-95-07-62/)
-   -   Mod Guide: how to install roof rails (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/fwd-tech-guides-95-07-62/how-install-roof-rails-21345/)

nemesis 06-13-2010 11:33 PM

how to install roof rails

i had members pm'ed me on how to install roof rails, well i thought i'll do a write for anyone wanting to know how. so bear with me as i'm not good with describing.

tools need:
expoxy (2 packages)
flat head screw driver
goo gone
rubbing alcohol

use a flat head screw driver and pry off the stock roof piece like you see in the pic. these pieces are not reusable once they are pull off. it can be usable, but it's gonna be hard trying to shape them back out from the bend and crease.
http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...p/IMG_0074.jpg
http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...p/IMG_0073.jpg

only the left side of the roof rail can go on the left side and same way as the right side. now it's time to test fit to make sure you know which side is the left/right side and which side of the rail is the front.

the side with the most flattest on top will be going to the front (toward the windshield)
one you determine which side of the rail is for the right side and which is for the left and which side of the rail go to the front. place each of the rails on the roof to make sure they fit the roof slots. once everything line up and look good put the roof rail to the side.

grab a bottle of goo gone and squirt some on a rag and scub out the old 3m tape and dirt off the roof slot. when that's clean and dry grab some rubbing alcohol and pour some on a clean rag and wipe down the the whole roof slot where the roof rail gonna sit in. do same thing on the other side. once the alcohol dry do not touch inside the slots.