Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/)
-   Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/engine-transmission-performance-adders-12/)
-   -   help with engine build (https://montecarloforum.com/forum/engine-transmission-performance-adders-12/help-engine-build-26271/)

original87SS 02-21-2011 07:15 PM

help with engine build

i have a all original 1987 SS monte carlo. it has been sitting since 98 and im going to try to get it runnning and build it in the proccess.

so far a list of mods are: hooker headers(2050), dynomax exhaust(17423), edlebrock intake manifold(3706), crane compu-cam(2040), MSD 6a igntion, and vortec heads.

this is my first build ever and im just wondering if this sounds like it will work.

-thanks

Budsjlm 02-21-2011 09:46 PM

i'd say pull the original 305 motor and stuff it in the corner get your self a 350 and work from there those mods will be much more benificial with the extra 45 CI

and if you ever want to go back to original you have and would be numbers matching

ar3em11 02-21-2011 11:39 PM

Id have to agree with buds on that one. Go out and get yourself a late 70s 350 block out of a truck, they are 4 bolt mains. Much stronger. You can do alot more with alot less on those motors. A mild cam, decent carb and intake, maybe some vortec heads and youll have a nice street machine that will be able to also put down nice numbers at the track. There is a place where i live that you can get a core block for 150$ already cleaned and magnafluxed to ensure its good. Alot of cities have them jsut gotta dig!

TheMonteMan 02-22-2011 07:39 AM

id have to agree with these guys. the 305 is kind of a waste of money. save up and go 350 or bigger.

original87SS 02-23-2011 02:06 PM

I am keeping it original. I do not want to put another engine in it

Budsjlm 02-23-2011 06:07 PM