Tires/Rims/Suspension Discuss your tires, rims, and your suspension system in here.

Brake Problem. Vibrating Pedal

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2013, 08:31 PM
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Brake Problem. Vibrating Pedal

So it seems like I'm on here every other week to try and find a solution to a new problem i'm having. I cold not find a thread on this but hopefully someone has had the same problem as me and know how to fix it. Any advice is appriciated. I have a 2003 Monte Carlo SS

So my brakes work, but when stopping (expecially down a hill) my pedal vibrates up and down motion although they don't move much. My steering wheel vibrates a little also. I've noticed some noise when pulling into parking spots. Sometimes randomly my brake light will come on also my battery in the message center so just a couple seconds then go away. I've changed my brake pads and my rotors SEEM fine but I'm no expert. Brake fluid is good and my emergency brake is not on . Just seeing what I should do next without dumping awhole bunch of money into this. Could it be a ABS sesor? Let me know if you had this problem thanks!

Old 07-21-2013, 08:39 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Brake vibration is usually in my opinion warped rotors. When you say they seem fine, looks are deceiving. How many miles are on the car and do they appear to be the original rotors. My daughters 02 Malibu and my Monte brakes vibrated pretty bad on a down hill stop by my home. I swapped out the rotors and now all is well. You can get them for a song and a dance. Depending on how much you like your car and expect to keep it, you should consider drilled and slotted rotors as they will not warp again from hard braking.

See eBay link:

Front Kit Performance Drilled and Slotted Brake Rotors Ceramic Pads M040514 | eBay

Old 07-21-2013, 09:06 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2014