Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

white smoke out of exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2014, 01:10 PM
Default white smoke out of exhaust

Hey guys I'm new to this but I see a lot of helpful things on here I need some help. I changed my upper intake gasket and my problem still occurs. I keep checking my oil dipstick there is no residue in the dipstick but when I open my oil filler cap it has white smoke come out of it. Right now my car has a miss because of the problem. My antifreeze disappears really quick from being full to empty but no eveidence of a leak. My exhaust does smell like antifreeze and my oil filler cap does have white residue. I've been told change the head gasket but I thought that would leave antifreeze in my oil. I have been working on cars for awhile and I can't figure this out I'm putting my car down after I get home today to tear down to the head gasket and change it but I'm not sure that's the problem. I have a 2004 Monte carlo ss 3800 series 2. I do know a major problem is the head gasket being blown. So please help tell me what If I'm on the right path or if not tell me what to do. Thank u in advance for any advice I really love this car it has 132000 miles so I'm thinking it is the head gasket.

Old 03-24-2014, 02:02 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

A bad head gasket will cause all that you mentioned. Each time I had one replaced on a car they Also did and oil change, coolant flush and put new spark plugs in. You may Also want to clean your 02 sensor on the engine side of the CAT!

Old 03-24-2014, 03:00 PM
Monte of the Month -- March 2015

It does sound like a head gasket like everyone else said. My lumina had this issue too. I know it happens on a lot of gm cars. Welcome to the forum.

Old 03-24-2014, 04:38 PM