Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > Monte Carlo Repair Help
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-09-2008, 11:45 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location:
Posts: 14
Default Resetting Change Oil light without factory radio

I got my oil change about 3 weeks ago at a local Jiffy Lube, and now the message center on my cluster is showing: "Change Engine Oil" I think that they didn't reset the oil. Another reason whyI can't do it my self is because I have an aftermarket radio. Any suggenstions???? By the way it go'saway 60 seconds after the car has been on and never comes on until I turn off and then on the car.
__________________
03 M.C.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2008, 07:45 AM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,145
Default RE: Change Engine Oil

this might sound crazy but if you turn the key to the"ON" position but dont turnthe car on and press the gas pedal 3 times realeasing it between each one for about a second and on the third one hold it down for about 3-4 seconds and then turn the key to the off position. then just turn you car on and it should go away.
__________________
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x174/BlackMonteCarlo/MONTE%20RIMS/SPRING08024-1-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2008, 10:17 AM
Space's Avatar
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Beach`in Florida
Posts: 31,053
Banned from Facebook Banned Empty Space They won't let me play anymore Revoked X-Rated
Default RE: Change Engine Oil

LOL Luke LOL
It does sound really crazy
Only in a Chevy LOL
but
It Works
LOL
I wonder who at GM devised this method, and what
type of drugs they were doing.LSD
LOL
__________________
`Space
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:41 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location:
Posts: 14
Default RE: Change Engine Oil

thank you so much!!!!!! It worked, thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
03 M.C.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:32 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,145
Default RE: Change Engine Oil

No problem thats why we are here, i didnt believe the first time i heard it till i tried it
__________________
http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x174/BlackMonteCarlo/MONTE%20RIMS/SPRING08024-1-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2010, 12:19 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: alaska
Posts: 12
Default

thanks for that cuz i couldnt figure out how to turn that off.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2011, 01:10 AM
meanmonte02's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 7
Default

Will that work for the tire pressure and all the other lights? (except check engine)
__________________
2002 SS Monte: Functional Ram air, K&N Filter, Soon to be Supercharged
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2011, 08:24 AM
03SSLE's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- August 2012
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 5,855
Default

The Search feature at the top of the page will reveal a wealth of information. A seperate thread about your problem would also yield more replies. To reset the tire monitor turn the key to ACC or ON, then turn your parking lights on/off 3 times in a row.
__________________

Photo Gallery on Photobucket

Mike
'Life is a tragedy for those who feel and a comedy for those who think.' ~Jean de la Bruyère
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:48 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I have an 03 and also an aftermarket radio and I have tried this a million times, but the things still will not shut off. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2012, 08:28 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 22,875
mikerogers.design ChibiBlackSheep mikerogersdesigns ChibiBlackSheep ChibiBlackSheep thismikerogers
Send a message via AIM to ChibiBlackSheep
Default

You either aren't putting the gas pedal all the way down and all the way up, or you are doing it too slow.
__________________

Daily Driver - 2013 IOM Camaro 1LS | LFX and M6
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 08:28 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2006, aftermarket, carlo, change, engine, factory, light, lights, message, monte, oil, radio, reset, settings, stereo, stock


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.