Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > Monte Carlo Repair Help
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-24-2007, 05:47 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 15
Default How do you reset the warning lights

Hey guys i was wondering when you replace your factory radio with an aftermarket head unit and you also install that module so your chimes and stuff work. MY question is how do u reset your oil life and low tire pressure light with the old factory radio gone.
__________________
**** U PAY ME
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2007, 06:50 AM
Just call me Dubs
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Go City
Posts: 964
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

I'm not exactly sure and some of these guys may be able to help you better since I haven't changed my radio yet.But from my understanding your supposed to mount the factory radio somewhere in the trunk so that you can still turn these warning messages off.I bought a very long wiring harness for my car from a friend that reaches from the front to the trunk.He told me that's what that kind wiring harness was meant for so you could keep your factory radio to rest your message center.
__________________
http://a980.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/17/l_1ce04922717ace86f0020a782bce9cfb.jpg

Go Big or Go Home

" I ain't never graduate I can't even spell recession we still in the hood gettin money we stuntin" - Gorilla Zoe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2007, 08:31 AM
RocknSS04's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2007
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,231
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

Not sure off the top of my head, but I know it's in the owners manual. It's easy, just little tricks.
Don't have my manual with me right now, or I'd check, cuz you got me curious.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2007, 09:59 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kilgore,Texas
Posts: 564
Send a message via AIM to DESS03
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

for the oil its the press the gas pedal 3 times thing and the tire pressere on is the light switch up pull it in andout to the marker light spot 3 times
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-24-2007, 03:21 PM
RocknSS04's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2007
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,231
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

With the ignition switch on, but the motor not running, for the oil life reset, pump the gas pedal fully 3x's slowly within 5 seconds, and turn off the key. Owners manual p. 5-23.
For the tire pressure, with the igntion switch to the on position also, pull the light switch to the parking light position on and off 3x's within 5 seconds, and turn off the key. Owners manual p. 5-73.
That should reset the system.

Last edited by RocknSS04; 12-05-2009 at 07:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-25-2007, 04:33 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 15
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

Thank u guys sooo much
__________________
**** U PAY ME
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-25-2007, 06:11 AM
RocknSS04's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2007
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,231
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

So it worked for you OK?
Merry Christmas
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:24 AM
Taz's Avatar
Taz Taz is offline

Monte Of The Month -- March 2014
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor
Posts: 17,571
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

I've been told that the methods Richard and Wayne mentioned are the same as the Grand Prix.
Personally, I like these methods better than the overly-complicated factory radio method mentioned in the owners' manual. It's also the method I've seen the oil change guys at the dealership do.

I've also added a link to this thread to the similarly named thread in the DIY section like you asked.
__________________


2004 Dale Earnhardt Jr Signature Series #544
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:29 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 9
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

I did change my oil & that pump 3 times does not work![align=left]I found online manuals at: http://www.gm.ca/gm/english/owners/c...dispManualInfo[/align][align=left]I posted this to help others who are given wrong information like that pump 3 times trick.[/align][align=left][/align][align=left]How to Reset the Oil Life Indicator[/align][align=left]After changing the engine oil, the system must be[/align][align=left]reset. To reset the indicator, use one of the[/align][align=left]following procedures:[/align][align=left]Using the RDS Radio[/align][align=left]1. Turn the ignition to ACC or ON, with the radio off.[/align][align=left]2. Press and hold the DISP button on the radio for at[/align][align=left]least five seconds until SETTINGS is displayed.[/align][align=left]3. Press the SEEK up or down arrows to scroll through[/align][align=left]the main menu.[/align][align=left]4. Scroll until OIL LIFE appears on the display.[/align][align=left]5. Press the PREV or NEXT buttons to enter the[/align][align=left]submenu. RESET will be displayed.[/align][align=left]6. Press the DISP button to reset. A chime will be heard[/align][align=left]to verify the new setting and DONE will be[/align][align=left]displayed for one second.[/align][align=left]7. Once the indicator has been reset, scroll until EXIT[/align][align=left]appears on the display.[/align][align=left]8. Press the DISP button to exit programming. A chime[/align]will be heard to verify the exit.
__________________
Money & Women Are The Most Sought After & The Least Known About Of Any Two Things We Have!(Will Rogers Circa 1929)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:12 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location:
Posts: 4
Default RE: How do you reset the warning lights

Hey Guys, what about a 2006SS ?
My CHECK TIRE PRESSURE indication is on, I check the pressure on the dash buttons,AND the reading at the RRis getting worse each time I check it(was 26 psi now 16 psi) but the tire pressure at the wheel is fine (32 psi). So, sounds likesender unit going South.
I know to push the check-mark button and the message goes away, but, is there anyway just to DEFEAT the whole stupid thing? Come-on, I'm a gear head and I tinker in the garage all the time. I don't need an indicator to tell me what to do ! [sm=alcoholic.gif]
__________________
"Beer is proof God loves us and wants us to be happy" Ben Franklin
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 01:12 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
03, 2007, carlo, dash, factory, info, low, monte, pressure, radio, reset, ss, tire, turn, warning


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.